My Goals for 2012

I did okay with my 2011 goals at first, but fell off the bandwagon near the end there. And I didn’t do so good of holding myself accountable by posting updates either. I truly hope to update once a month this year with how I’m doing. Okay, without further ado, here are my goals for 2012:

Focus: Spiritual

1. Spend 10 minutes a day reading the Bible and in prayer. I realize this is very minimal, but for me it’s a vast improvement.

Focus: Personal

1. Commit to being gluten-free, allowing for one exemption per week (this could be as small as a cracker or bigger like a hamburger bun).

2. Workout 4 times per week. I’ve been doing pretty well, but in December it just didn’t happen.

3. Get to bed by 10:30 and wake up at 6:30. Every day. With very minimal exception.

4. Read 3 books per month.

Focus: Financial

1. Save $300/month. I no longer have health insurance so I need to be careful to save for emergencies.

2. Pay for my trip to Arizona with money I’ve specifically saved for that purpose (trip is in early summer).

Focus: Creative

1. Complete one creative project per month. This may be something work-related (such as home-made learning tools/toys) or something that’s gift-able.

2. Spend 1 hour per month playing piano just for fun.

Focus: Home

1. Set up and stick to a regular cleaning schedule.

2. Evaluate all the clothing I own and purge my closets. The specific goal is to have all my clothes fit in my dresser and bedroom closet (currently I use a hall closet too).

Focus: Work

I have a few goals in this area, but none that are worthy of making this post. Overall, my goal is to spend time with each child individually throughout the week. I tend to focus a lot on the toddler and hardly at all on the school-ager.

Focus: Relationships

1. Spend time with Diasia (Little Sister) once a month.

2. Send out 2 hand-written notes per month.

3. Spend time with at least 3 people I have not previously spent time with (I’m thinking this will be people from my church). This could include going to lunch, grabbing coffee, or visiting the zoo or a park.

4. Write to my 2 Compassion children once every two months. I’m not very good about keeping in contact with them at all.

Focus: Blogging

1. Write on this blog at least once a week.

2. Update my 2012 goals once per month.

3. Update my Reading through 2012 page once a month.

4. Submit 2 articles for CincyNanny blog per month.

That is what I’m striving for this year. I try to make my goals realistic and achievable. So here goes nothing!

Leave a Reply

