A new television season has started…

and I’m not watching. Let me give some background first, okay?

Every since the switch to HD, I have not had tv reception at my apartment. I refuse to pay for (and can’t afford anyway) cable and can’t seem to make my HD tv and antenna work. Oh well. Thanks to Hulu and other sites, I’ve been able to keep up with my favorite shows just fine. In fact, I like it better this way because I can watch whenever I’m ready to and don’t even have to think about what time the show’s actually on tv.

This spring however, I was very busy. So busy I didn’t even think about tv and missed the season finales of several shows I watch. This summer, I didn’t turn to Hulu once. Now, don’t get me wrong. I almost always have a dvd playing on my tv (usually the 2 shows I have on dvd–Gilmore Girls and Home Improvement) as background noise. It’s not that I’m anti-tv or anything, I’ve just been busy with other things.

So, given how my tv watching summer happened (ie. I didn’t watch) and I didn’t really miss it, I’ve decided that for this current season (Sep-May), I will not keep up with current shows. Even my favorite, Psych! I have Netflix and will continue watching via that whenever I feel like it (I’ve been working through Andy Griffith and Murder, She Wrote), but I won’t visit Hulu for the current season. My only exception for watching current tv will be when I’m visiting my mom. Mainly because she watches certain shows in the evening and so, in being with her, I’ll be there too. But that’s my only exception.

This is simply due to my lack of time to devote to television watching. I get more done (and more books read) when I’m not constantly trying to keep up with 6-10 different shows, you know? When I stopped watching this summer, I discovered just how much of my time had been taken up by tv. Since I workout after work now and don’t get home until 7 or 7:30, I’d never get anything done if I’m trying to watch an hour of tv a night!

I’d love to say my decision is due to a realization of the immorality of most shows and the recent conference we had at church on holy living. But, that’s just not true. I actually made this choice before that conference. Anyhow, we’ll see how it goes. Those of you who I see regularly, feel free to check up on me!

How about you? How do you avoid the trap of spending too much time watching tv?

Leave a Reply

