A Visit to Baltimore: Day Two

For my second day in Baltimore, Joani decided to take me over to visit the Antietam National Battlefield park. I had actually been there before, about 13 years ago. However, I was on crutches at the time and being “dragged” there while camping with my family. It was so neat to go back and actually be interested in what I was reading, seeing, and hearing! Here are a few pictures from the area:

 

A monument--ok, I didn't care quite enough to get what it was specifically for

 

I love the stone walls all around (this was around an old cemetary)

 

a sunken farm road, also known as "the bloody path"

 

Burnside's Bridge, where Union soldiers tried to cross as the Confederates shot from the ridge just on the right of this picture

 

I think what struck me the most on this visit was the sheer numbers of soldiers killed, wounded, or missing  in one day. Over 23,000! I mean, fighting was obviously way different then, but we yell about losing 10 soldiers in 3 days. At Antietam, about 3,500 were killed in 1 day! I don’t know. It just puts some things in perspective a bit, I guess. Or maybe it’s just me.

Anyhow, it was a great trip and I’m so thankful to Joani and her mom for opening up their lovely home and for sharing their great cooking (we had Maryland blue crab!).

Leave a Reply

