Christmas Newsletter 2010

Instead of mailing out traditional Christmas cards and a newsletter, this year I sent Christmas postcards (made at Vistaprint.com) and referred recipients to this blog. I figured that means I should probably update the blog, eh? So without further ado, here is my Christmas 2010 newsletter:

Dear Family and Friends (and whomever else reads this),

Merry Christmas! I greatly enjoy celebrating Christ’s birth every year and I hope you do as well. I pray that your Christmas will be filled with peace and joy along with family and friends.

2010 was certainly an interesting year for me. It started quietly enough with not much of anything going on. However, that changed quickly enough. As many of you know, my Dad dealt with pulmonary fibrosis since I was little and he was quickly getting worse. We had known for years that he would ultimately need a double-lung transplant and his doctor declared that now was that time. So in March, he and Mom began the process of testing for getting on the transplant list.

At the end of March, I left/was released from my job at a childcare center. I had not been happy there at all and so it was actually a bit of a relief to be gone. However, for the first time in my life, I did not already have another job. God truly gave me great peace during this time and by the end of April had provided me with a temp. job at another center. Though I had decided not to go back to full-time center work, I really liked my time spent at this small up-and-coming place.

April was a time to be able to visit with friends and take the long trek up to New Hampshire to see my teenage cousins during their spring break (and my aunt and uncle). I also got to stop in my hometown and see a family I had not seen in years. I got to sit with my mom during one of my dad’s big tests and catch up on cleaning and stuff around the apartment. It really was a nice break for me.

At the end of May, my temp job was extended for “as long as you want, until you find work.” What a blessing! I actually found a new job at the end of May, but did not start until July 5. I am now working as a nanny for a family of 3 young boys (ages: 5 1/2, 3 1/2, and 6 months). I absolutely love it and can’t believe I stayed in child care centers for so long. I do hope to be with this family for several years. One very nice perk: I get Wednesdays off!

Meanwhile, my dad got approved for the lung transplant and was placed right at the top of the list. We got the call July 6. I had told my new employers about all this and they were mroe than gracious with their allowance for my taking time off. What followed was a long 4 weeks with me trekking up to Cleveland all but 1 weekend and numerous early morning/late night phone calls. Late on August 3rd, God saw fit to bring my dad home to Himself. I can not begin to express the appreciation of myself and my family to everyone for all their prayers and encouragement during the summer (and since).

After the summer craziness, I did not feel like driving to Cleveland for Labor Day so instead my mom came to me. We enjoyed a weekend of playing tourists and had a nice visit. In October, my grandma (Dad’s mom) went home to be with the Lord. She had been ill for quite some time and it came as no surprise. Truly, my prayer for 2011 is simply for no more diminishing family! But I also know fully well that God is in control and His will is perfect.

Thanksgiving was spent with Mom’s family near NYC and Christmas will be quiet in Cleveland with my mom, brother, and uncle (Dad’s brother) from Rochester.

I continue to be co-director of Wednesday night Kid’s club at my church. I also took over the nursery in January and am playing piano more often for church as well. I did not do a musical this summer, due to everything going on, but am in the Christmas showchoir once again. I continue to be a Big Sister as well. So I continue to keep quite busy.

I wish you all a wonderful Christmas and a very happy and healthy 2011!

God bless,

Karen

Leave a Reply

