Waiting?

I attended a wedding shower yesterday for a lovely woman, Amy, from my church. During the shower, her cousin paid tribute by telling the “story” of the life of Princess Amy.  Throughout the story, the cousin said, “And still, Princess Amy waited for her prince.” Now, Amy has steadily served the Lord and has certainly not been one to sit around merely waiting for a husband. But, the fact that it was a big enough deal for the cousin to mention got me thinking.

Am I waiting for my “prince” to arrive? I really don’t think I am. Now, don’t get me wrong. I am not opposed to the idea of getting married. It’s not that I feel I don’t want to get married. However, I don’t particularly feel drawn towards marriage. I don’t feel the need to read blogs by singles or stories/books about singleness and living life despite being single. The issues that media makes it appear single women have, I don’t have. I just have never had any sort of great longing for there to be a significant other in my life.

Have I had to ocassional moment? Sure. Who hasn’t? But, those moments are very few and very far between. As I wrote in a previous post, I am content. I’m content with my life. I have always stated that if there’s a guy for me, God will have to hit me over the head with him. And, therefore, I live my life not concerning myself with trying to find “my prince.” I don’t feel as though I’m waiting, because I’m not…I’m too busy living.

Leave a Reply

