Contentment

“for I have learned in whatever state I am, to be content” (Phil. 4: 11b)

I am content. That may seem crazy considered the recent loss of my dad, but I truly am content right now. I continue to have a decent apartment in an acceptably safe area (it’s not the safest, but not super-dangerous either), I LOVE my church family, I have a great job, and I and my family are healthy and doing well.

My brother started a new job (after being out of work since June) and moved back in with Mom, so she now has companionship. Mom came to visit over Labor Day weekend and we had a great time doing touristy things. I’m crazy-organized for kid’s club this year and rehearsals have started for the Christmas show I do with a community theater group.

Above all, God is still God and He is always good. Yes, I am disappointed that His will was not mine, but that does not change God’s goodness. Things, and people, in life come and go, but God is always here and always doing what He knows is best for me. Therefore, I am content. Even joyful. Happiness is situational, joy comes from the Lord. I am thankful that He has given me joy despite the situations that come my way.

“Do not sorrow, for the joy of the Lord is your strength.” (Nehemiah 8:10c)

Leave a Reply

