Camping and a new job

This past weekend, my church took a camping trip. Well, some of the people from my church took a camping trip. A wonderfully fun couple organized the whole thing and several families came along for the fun. Except, it was hot. And humid. And it stormed both Friday and Saturday nights. But it was still fun. I know that if I could have seen the lightening (I was in the tent) I would have been enthralled with how beautiful it is.

I’m not really a country girl. I’m not a city girl either. I’m sort of a smallish-suburban-near country-girl. I enjoy being outdoors (not doing outdoorsy stuff, just actually being outdoors) and I truly like camping. Even tent camping (which we were doing). I love storms. I HATE humidity and heat. So…I, well, I have strongly suggested that next year’s trip be in May! But, I had fun nonetheless and only wish we could do this sort of thing more often.

Though I didn’t actually go on any hikes, I went to some spots where I got nice views of the nearby falls:

and a flower too!

Once again I am changing jobs. I’ve actually been out of full-time employment since the end of March. I’ve been working part-time at a child care center since the end of April, but in July I will be starting a new full-time job. It’s something a bit different for me, and yet very much the same thing. Instead of co-workers and lesson plans and state licensing, I’ll be focused solely on pleasing one set of parents and 3 little boys. I’m going to try my hand at being a nanny. Not the live-in kind, thank goodness. I need my space! I’m excited and nervous all at the same time.

Leave a Reply

