Updates

I haven’t written in a little while as I’ve been away from home! I spent all last week (Friday to this past Friday) hanging out with 5 teens/preteens, 1 dog, and 1 cat as their parents were in China adopting. I had so much fun! They’re a great group of kids (from my church so I knew them already) and it was a nice change to come home to people. Plus, many from the chapel provided meals for us, so very little cooking was asked of myself or the children (though the 16 year old baked a great apple turnover).

Of course, I was away all day during the workweek, but the younger ones know the older two are in charge when there’re no adults. I mostly spent my evenings walking the dog and playing board games. It was truly easy and enjoyable. The adoption went through beautifully and they’re all now adjusting to life with another teen boy.

The new job is going fine and the children have adjusted to my being in the classroom well. My co-teacher is friendly and has good behavior management skills, which I lack, so we balance each other well.

My little sister and I have spent only a limited amount of time together recently and I look forward to being with her more after Labor Day weekend. School has started, so homework help with be needed, I’m sure.

I’m about to start gearing up for the Christmas show I do with my theater group, though it’s hard to think of snow and elves while wearing shorts and tank tops! I don’t have to audition this year and I’m glad to avoid that process. I am glad I took the summer away from theater, but am looking forward to getting back into it.

That’s all for now!

Leave a Reply

