When I was a child

I’ve been thinking about Paul’s words recently: “When I was a child, I spoke as a child and thought as a child. Now that I am a (wo)man I’ve put childish things behind me (verse is paraphrased).” It makes sense, when one becomes an adult, it’s time to grow up and change from childish behaviors and attitudes. I think I did this in reverse. Not tooting my own horn here, but as a child I was pretty darn mature. I mean, at 13 stores asked me if I wanted their credit cards! Among personal relationships too, I was fairly mature. I had my moments but, overall, I was the specimen of a mature teen. I was pretty self-less, caring, and considerate.

NOW, however, I have sunk to acting like a spoiled teen. I mean, I’m certainly not all bad and am still often told, “You act older than (my age).”  (Side note: I think that’s due to the child-like behavior that is now prevalent among 20-somethings. Compared to others some may know, I still am mature). But, in my personal relationships (mostly acquaintances as I’m fairly new in Cincy), I now act selfishly, unconsiderately, and sometimes downright rudely. I talk when I should be listening, I dominate conversations, and I stick my nose where it doesn’t belong. I’ve always been a talker, but the rude factor didn’t used to be such an issue.

I’ll drive to church or some get-together telling myself, “You will shut up. You will not relate everything to yourself or things you know. You will allow others to talk.” Yet, as conversation starts flowing, I’m right in there again, taking over. Then, I berate myself on the way home, telling myself “next time, next time. Again, paraphrasing the apostle Paul, “I do the things I don’t want to do.”

You might say, “Awareness is the first step.” It is, but with awareness must come action. So, this is my own personal self-call to action. On the other hand, maybe I have matured and the issue now is simply I’m more aware of my faults than when I was a teen. Hmmmm…now there’s some food for thought. What do you think? How do you re-train yourself out of a bad social habit?

One thought on “When I was a child

  1. I just now have gotten around to reading blogs, and I wanted to let you know that the picture that you painted of yourself is in no way the way that I see you. I have never thought that you dominated the conversation or were rude. Don’t be so hard on yourself. 🙂

Leave a Reply

